RSS

Intimate Conversation with Patricia Saunders

23 Dec

Intimate Conversation with Patricia Saunders

Patricia A. Saunders, an award-winning self-published author, has forged a remarkable literary path from her roots in Connecticut to her current residence in the vibrant San Francisco Bay Area. The turning point in her life came in 2006 with the passing of her mother, a victim of Alzheimer’s. In response, Patricia decided to immortalize her thoughts and experiences through the power of words.

Fueling her ambition with a Master’s in Management from the University of Phoenix (2011), she commenced her writing journey in 2012, letting her mantra “Letting the words flow until the pen stops” guide her.

Patricia’s works have graced prestigious events such as the Los Angeles Times Festival of Books, Toronto Word On The Street, Sacramento Black Book Fair, and more. She is a certified motivational speaker who passionately addresses women’s issues, empowerment, and grief. Her literary contributions extend to her monthly blog, “Blessed & Curvy,” which covers contemporary topics.

The trajectory of Patricia’s writing career is marked by impactful releases. “Through the Fire” (2012) explored emotions and life lessons, followed by “Loving Me” (2013) and “Let It Rain” (2014), both self-published gems delving into love, grief, self-image, and self-esteem. “This Too Shall Pass” (2016), released by AuthorHouse Publishing, earned a stellar five-star rating from readers.

Patricia’s memoirs, “There is Sunshine After The Rain” (2018), “Four Seasons Of Love” (2020), and “Saying Goodbye” (2023) further showcase her diverse storytelling. Her seventh book, “Saying Goodbye,” stands as a poignant memoir dedicated to her late sister, Barbara Williams, who passed away from metastatic lung cancer, which led to liver cancer.

In addition to her literary pursuits, Patricia is a proud member of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. Beyond her writing endeavors, she enjoys traveling, spending quality time with her family, and indulging in the art of wine tasting. Patricia A. Saunders continues to inspire and uplift through her compelling words and motivational presence.

Patricia A. Saunders’ books are distributed by Ingram, and they are available at your local book retailers, http://www.patriciaasaunders.com, http://www.amazon.com, and http://www.barnesandnoble.com

Saying Goodbye by Patricia A. Saunders

Have you lost someone?
Have you experienced grief?
Are you trying to pick up the pieces?
Saying Goodbye is the book for you!

In the heartfelt pages of her memoir, Patricia A. Saunders, the youngest in a family of thirteen siblings, reveals the profound reverberations of losses to cancer that have left an indelible mark on her life.

Within her narrative, she sensitively explores the depths of grief accompanying the departure of a cherished family member, navigating the distinctive connection between the eldest and the youngest. Patricia eloquently traces the path toward accepting her sister’s passing, bravely sharing the intimate details of her personal journey.

In this courageous exploration, Patricia extends solace and inspiration to those grappling with the challenge of saying goodbye to their loved ones, fostering a sense of comfort and resilience in the face of loss.

SLM: What initially sparked your passion for writing, and when did you realize it was something you wanted to pursue seriously?
I have been writing since I was a child but took it seriously after the passing of my mother, who had Alzheimer’s. I wanted my words to be my legacy if I inherited the ugly disease.

SLM: Can you describe a moment or experience that profoundly influenced your approach to storytelling or writing style?
After losing my mother, I had so many words to express, and poetry has always been my rescue. I wrote my feelings about experiencing the first i.e., birthdays, Mother’s Day, and holidays, and looking at the relationships I had over the years. I let them flow onto the pages.

SLM: Are there any personal rituals or routines you follow when you sit down to write, something unique that helps you get into the creative zone?
I must have candles burning, gospel and R&B music playing, and a glass of wine.

SLM: Take us behind the scenes of your most recent work. How did the loss of your older sister inspire or influence your decision to write this book of intimate and personal poetry?
The latest book was therapeutic to write about the relationship between my late sister and myself when learning she had cancer and the journey to her transition. She was also a poet, and the goal was to write a book about poetry; as I was writing, I went in a totally different direction, and it became a memoir relating to the bond between sisters, dealing with cancer, and the acceptance of saying goodbye. Photos and poetry are included to give the reader visuals and understand the chapters’ background.

SLM: Your book conveys a deep sense of connection with your sister. Can you talk about the ways you maintain that connection through your writing?
As a reader, I learned what she meant to me, her siblings, and the community. From the wisdom that she shared with all of us, I was able to channel what others facing similar circumstances might follow and to continue her legacy of education, mentoring, and giving back in some shape or form. As a poet, I think about her and our similar forms of writing of expressions. To continue speaking on the subject is a way to continue to keep her memory alive!

SLM: How do you decide which aspects of your grief and your sister’s memory to share in your writing and which to keep private?
From previous experiences shared in my books, I learned that I keep the identity of family members and some situations private, and in this book, the subject is Barbara, who is named. I shared all of my feelings of love, grief, resentment, and forgiveness on the pages and the readers know that my heart is left on those pages.

SLM: Your work offers readers a glimpse into the sisterhood connection that many can’t find. Could you describe a specific poem that encapsulates the complexity of your emotions during this process?
Ashes to Ashes is the poem I wrote to her, letting her know I had accepted the reality that she was gone.

SLM: Can you share the role of grief in your life beyond what’s expressed in your book?
Since I am the youngest of 13 siblings, with four remaining, and losing both parents, I have experienced grief more than I care to. Losing each impacted me differently. Losing my mother hit differently, and I literally wanted to die. It sent me into a dark place, and I am careful now that I don’t go there by opening up for support versus dealing alone with grief.

SLM: Writing and journaling often come with moments of clarity and reflection. How has writing poetry helped you gain a deeper understanding of yourself?
Writing has given me solace in having a deeper relationship with God. A lot of times when writing, I give reference to scriptures; I have a title before the first chapter is complete, so I know that from being silent and letting the words from me to the pages, it’s spiritual. I have learned more about myself and my confidence from knowing life gives us lessons.

SLM: Writing a book often serves as a form of healing. How has writing this book been therapeutic for you, and how do you hope it might provide solace to your readers?
From learning my sister had cancer, was going to die, and beyond her control wasn’t going to live for the additional ten years she thought she had I went into a fog and didn’t grieve. I kept busy to not feel the pain. Writing the book peeled back the layers and I remembered the good and bad times. I learned to forgive to find peace. My wish is for others who are faced with a similar circumstance to be able to read the book, follow the tips included, and find acceptance.

SLM: Your choice of words and imagery is striking. Could you share the creative process behind crafting your poems and the role of language in conveying your emotions?
When I write on my laptop, I pick a title (something that has impacted me from personal experiences, shared with me, or the media) and let the words flow. I want the reader to imagine the scenery, if I mention a smell to recognize it, and if I describe the person visually everything so that the feelings will take them along the journey. Being a daughter of a preacher I inherited the gift of storytelling and letting the reader into private moments they can relate to the poem or chapter written.

SLM: Can you share a favorite or memorable reader interaction or fan feedback that touched you personally and impacted your writing?
When I did my book signing for this book, “Saying Goodbye” I held a Q&A afterward. A fan came up to have me autograph her book and shared that she had a cancer scare and is in the process of having both her breasts removed. My book and my answers gave her the perspective of the other side of being able to ask for help. It let me know that the book wasn’t written in vain but was meant to do what it did. Touch!

SLM: What role does writing play in your life beyond being a creative outlet?
I write to help someone going through the same circumstance. How does it intersect with your personal identity and daily experiences? Researching topics I am always learning it helps me with my self-care and remembering the tips I share with others.

SLM: How can our literary community support you? What do you need from us?
Follow, Share, and Purchase the book. To show your love, please write a review. Let your words let others know about the book.

SLM: How can readers connect with you and find out more about your previous books?
They can connect with me on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/blessedpoetpat, http://www.instagram.com/blessedpoetpat, http://www.patriciaAsaunders.com and they can also follow me on http://www.amazon.com

Purchase Saying Goodbye by Patricia A Saunders
https://www.amazon.com/dp/1665748265

 
 

Leave a comment